Besides marking conversations as completed, you also have the option to archive them. This means they will not be shown with the open or completed conversations. These conversations will only be shown when the specific view 'Include archived conversations' is selected.
You can archive email conversations by clicking on the archive icon. This is the box in between 'mark as done' and the Outlook icon.